What’s for dinner? Spicy Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

It seems like during the fall and winter we eat soup and chili for dinner more than anything else… in fact, this week I am making 2 different kinds of soup and chili for football on Sunday.  I always make enough to freeze half  for another meal which saves money and time in the long run.  I may be weird, but there’s something about a stocked freezer full of meals that makes me feel happy.  It’s a small kind of accomplishment I suppose.

Last night I made Spicy Asian Chicken Noodle Soup.  Don’t let the ‘spicy’ or ‘Asian’ part scare you away; if you have any aversions, lessen the amount or add it slowly and taste as you go.  It is really good.  Really really good.  The base of the recipe I found in Better Home and Gardens Cook Book, but the rest, I am proud to say, I came up with and tweaked myself… Asian because of ginger and soy sauce, Cayenne makes it spicy 🙂

SPICY ASIAN CHICKEN NOODLE SOUP

  1. 1 white onion, chopped
  2. 4 medium carrots/1 small bag of baby carrots, chopped
  3. 4 cloves garlic, minced
  4. 2lb raw chicken, cubed
  5. 2T dry ginger
  6. 1t cayenne (or to taste)
  7. 2 -49oz cans chicken stock
  8. 1 -14.5 oz can tomato sauce
  9. 1/4-1/3 c soy sauce
  10. 3 c spinach, rough chopped
  11. Egg Noodles (or rice noodles, or rice)

Combine first 9 ingredients in slow cooker, cook 4-6 hrs OR on stove stop, allow to simmer 1 hr

Add spinach last 5 minutes of cooking

Cook egg noodles according to directions.

(I keep the egg noodles separate from the soup or they get  mushy. Just portion out to your soup bowls )

With a piece of homemade sourdough bread, this soup makes a comforting meal on a windy October night 🙂

Leave a Reply

